Too many books, not enough time

I have plenty of books on my bookshelves that I *really* want to read (I’ve got rid of the ones I know I never will). And then, for Christmas, I got an ereader (a Kobo), which has made so many more books available to me. I want to read them, read them well, and write what I hope is a reasonable review at the end. I dont speed read like I used to (but can still read fairly fast).

I read about 93 books last year, and set myself the challenge of reading “just” 50 this year. This was to allow for me to read the larger books I have in my possession – you know, the ones that are over 700 pages long. I have already read 22, so it’s now the beginning of April and I’m nearly half way through my challenge. At this rate I may be able to reach well into the 70s or even higher.

I also get audio books, and those that I purchase are from Audible.co.uk. I got into audiobooks about 2 years ago, when I lost my eyesight, so couldnt read, but still wanted to occupy my brain somehow. I have several of those I still have to listen to, and dont know when I’ll get around to them either! There is also a podcast – http://www.craftlit.com where Heather combines her interest in crafting with being an English Teacher and helping us through English Lit books. She’s just finished Dracula, and Gulliver’s Travels will be next

 

Leave a Reply

