Classics Club November 2012 Meme

What classic piece of literature most intimidates you, and why? (Or, are you intimidated by the classics, and why? And has your view changed at all since you joined our club?)

I’ve always had trouble with the Russians! Whilst I’ve enjoyed Anna Karenina (and it’s one of the books I’m planning to read again), I’ve been intimidated by “War and Peace”. I’ve tried to read “Crime and Punishment” but didnt get very far. The main issue I think? Trying to keep track of all the characters and remember who has which nickname. It seems pretty common (ok, I’ve only attempted Tolstoy, so I’m going to tar everyone with the same brush!) for people to have their given name and at least two types of “nickname” – I’m presuming a family nickname and a friend nickname).

ETA: The Classics Club is a website that can be found here, and this post is in response to their November Meme question

Reading “One of our Thursdays is missing” by Jasper Fforde, it seems that I’m not the only one, as he has written a scene where there are characters escaping from “Crime and Punishment” who dont even know who they are never mind anyone else. At least it seems to be not only me!

2 thoughts on “Classics Club November 2012 Meme

  1. That scene in One of Our Thursdays is Missing had me on the floor. It was hysterical. I read it to my mom and it was even funnier out loud!

    I love Russians but they are very intimidating.

    Like

Leave a Reply

