Christmas book shopping

Each year I try and buy some books for my nieces and nephews and I recently visited the local Waterstones store and found myself in the children’s department. All the children I buy for are 9 and under, so there’s a mixed age range of reading abilities.

Books I ended up buying included: “The Hobbit” (which may still be a bit grown up for a 9 year old, but still), “Black Beauty”, 2 Paddington Bear books, 2 Horrid Henry Books, several Mr Men book, and a Winnie The Pooh short story.

Disappointed that for such a large store (and a large section dedicated to children), I couldnt find any Roald Dahl books (BFG?, James and the Magic Giant Peach?). I had wanted to pick up some pitched-at-older-than-5-yo Enid Blyton (e.g. St Clare’s or – probably too old – Malory Towers), but no such luck. Are these books too old fashioned now?

Leave a Reply

