BookGroups

Briefly – ever so briefly – I considered joining a bookgroup this year. Then decided – nah!

I’ve flirted briefly with bookgroups (those groups where you have to read a set book in a set time) before, both in person and online, and briefly enjoyed them. However, I have one trait that can spoil things: I hate feeling I have to complete something within a set timescale – I get the same feeling when having to complete a sewing task to time. It’s worse if I’m not enjoying the book. I then end up hating both the book, and myself (for hating the book, forcing myself to finish it etc). I get much more enjoyment out of reading if I get to read the books I want to read, when I want to read them and being able to stop part way through, read another 3 books and come back to it.

Note: I can work to deadline, regularly have to do it at work….but that’s work, that’s what I get paid to do, and I’ve never said I enjoy it.

One thought on “BookGroups

  1. Yeah I’m similar! Work is fine, but outside that I don’t like feeling pressured into reading a particular book in a particular timeframe – even if i want to read it! bizarre. Though, I still very much enjoy book clubs. To have a dedicated space to talk about books is a sacred space.
    Cheers 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

