Book Blogger Writing Prompt

Another challenge prompt from goodbooksandgoodwine

How do you choose what book to read next?

I have various means of deciding what’s to be done next

If I have an ARC/galley/early reviewer edition to read, I try to read that either within a month of getting the book, or close to the publication date (where known). This isnt always possible – this year I have a ridiculous number of galleys etc to get through and so some of the books get pushed further down the list.

My paperbooks (i.e. those not on the ebook that’s not an ARC/Galley) are read in what ever mood I’m in. Sometimes I fancy romances, sometimes a long crime novel, and sometimes I just need a book to tide me over the weekend.  I cant read in the order that I received the book in – sometimes I’m simply not in the mood to read a specific book, and if I read it when not in the mood, there’s always the risk that I will dislike the book and give it a correspondingly bad review.

Really, there is no logic to the order I choose to read next – it’s whatever I feel like!

Leave a Reply

