Armchair BEA 2014 – Expanding Blogging Horizons

 

Design by Amber of Shelf Notes
Design by Amber of Shelf Notes

Expanding Blogging Horizons 

I started blogging about 7 years ago, writing about crafting, especially my other hobby of cross stitch and trying to get into quilting and other hand embroidery. That fell by the wayside a few years ago  as I spent more time reading and building up this book blog. I still like to think that I’d be able to balance both sets of blogs and pay almost equal attention to them. I dont see a point where I will go into podcasting or vlogging – I feel I dont have the face or the voice for it! . I spend enough time in front of the computer as it is – I’m still trying to streamline the amount of time I spend so I can go off and do the interesting things to allow me something good to blog about!

Occasionally I do wonder whether I should get my own domain, or some of the upgrades offered by wordpress, but at the moment I’m struggling to justify to my mind the cost versus the smallish level of traffic (and lack of revenue) coming from either blog.

It was a while ago that I realised that my posts were, perhaps, a little light, bland or repetitive and that perhaps short reviews weren’t all that was required. Therefore I am making an effort to expand out what I post here – things like spreading out into ArmchairBEA, taking part in other non-review-related posts, and remembering that ultimately I am trying to be a better reviewer.

 

13 thoughts on “Armchair BEA 2014 – Expanding Blogging Horizons

  1. I was smiling at your comment that book blogging took over from actually doing the thing you went meant to be blogging about. I used to do a lot of needlepoint but since I started blogging that seems to have gone by the wayside.

    Like

  2. It seems to be we all have to prioritise. I would like to visit heaps of blogs, read and comment, yet that takes me away from writing on my blog. Or the very reason I blog – takes me away from reading books. Lately I have been thinking of taking up quilting, now that has been a distraction!!

    Like

    • I’m trying to do more audiobooks in order so I can do more sewing – it’s still “reading” but allows me to do more than one thing at a time

      Like

  3. I definitely get were you are coming from about trying to do more than just reviews. I’m still pretty new to blogging, but I’m realizing how there are so many other bookish (or even not-so-bookish) topics that I can post about on my book blog. Nice Post!

    Like

    • thanks – I collect links and topics as I’m using the internet, and use those as inspiration for blog posts. e.g. memes, book group questions etc., so it’s not just about book reviews

      Like

  4. It’s good to set goals like that. I know I have a list of words I use in almost every review that I have to work on. And if I rated the book well, the review will almost always be the same (good characters, good plot twists) because I’m very distinct about what I like in a book. But, we can learn and grow together!

    Like

Leave a Reply

