Armchair BEA 2014 – Young Adult

I havent read YA books for years – it can be a fine line to write for the tweens and teens without coming across as patronising, in words or tone. That’s me reading a book as an adult of course – I’m sure there are plenty of books and authors that dont do that.

My mother read Little Women as a child and it has remained one of her favourite books into her dotage. I read it attempted to read it for the first time as a twenty-something and hated the first couple of chapters (he’s never going to ring! get over it!).  I might have to attempt to read it again now I’m a lot older and have access to an English Lit teacher willing to walk the listener through each chapter.

As for the books that are coming out right now – I have no idea what is available and if they are any good. Ok, I’ve read some of the Harry Potter books, but they’re over 10 years old now.  I’ve read at least one Phillip Pullman (His Dark Materials?). Apart from that – nowt.

What am I missing?

4 thoughts on “Armchair BEA 2014 – Young Adult

  1. I, too, am too much of an eclectic read to be among the YA-only readers, but there are a lot of good YA books today. They are really flourishing, and I can understand why so many devote themselves to the genre. Well worth giving them a try, I think.

    Like

  2. Hallo, Hallo!

    *waves!* I am a #cheerREADER with Team4 of the #ArmChairBEA! I felt bad that you haven’t yet found your niche inside the YA market. I read a widely eclectic mixture of literature, including Historical Fiction as your tag cloud popped out at me as I was typing this! 🙂 What drew me back into Children’s Literature (I have a page designated for this actually!) in all its formats (i.e. Picture Books, Juvenile Fiction, & Young Adult especially) is that I am looking forward to being a Mum one day. I wanted to dart back into the books & branches of literature that lit my own childhood up with an intense about of joy! There is a LOT of new authors out there that I am motivated to reading, but I do not read what I consider ‘typical YA’, as I am NOT into: His Dark Materials, Twilight, The Hunger Games, etc.

    The types of YA I enjoy reading are:

    The Leland Dragon series by Jackie Gamber; “The Golden Hour” by Maiya Williams; “The Sixty-Eight Rooms” by Marianne Malone; “Keepers of the School” by Andrew Clements; “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio, etc. I even *loved!* “The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate” by Jacqueline Kelly! And, yes, I do love and cherish Harry Potter! 🙂

    I was thankful to read and review about the Leland Dragon series, and “Wonder” on my blog, in case you were keen to find out a bit more about each of those from an adult who read them. The author I have not yet mentioned is Laura Resau, who writes outstanding fiction for Young Adults!! I spotlighted her in my Equality in Lit post during the #AtoZChallenge in April, because I truly want to read through her novels this Summer & blog my impressions of them as I do! I have only read a small handful of her stories: “The Indigo Notebook”, “Star in the Forest”, and “What the Moon Saw”. She writes cutting honest drama and she brings in a mirror of another culture as she writes about everyday life.

    Jorie’s post on Equality in Lit / Diversity in Lit

    In regards to “Little Women”, I think you missed the part about the time setting of the story, as to the character what you felt they should get over and past was something that they would have felt was not as apparent as life was different during that timescape. I think the best rule of thumb is to sample different types of YA and Middle Grade novels — see if you can find a writer who appeals to you. And, if not, then that is okay too! After all, we all are going to have our differences. We all like different books, different authors, and different styles of story-telling. I do not think that that is a bad thing!?

    Like

    • Another fabulous comment Jorie, and thanks for all the tips. I’m going to try Little Women again sometime and since there seems to be a great range of YA out there at the moment, perhaps I wont ignore it so much as I have!

      Like

Leave a Reply

