#Nanowrimo – who is taking part this year?

November each year sees the start of NaNoWriMo or National Novel Writer’s Month.

This is a bit of a misnomer, since it’s actually ended up being international, but the basics remain the same: Between 1st and 30st November each year, you are challenged to write 50,000 words of something. This is roughly the length of a short novel (not a novella or short story) – I think Catcher In the Rye was taken as the example.

This was the challenge on the basis that the fundamental thing of writing is to write. Doesn’t matter what – it can be drivel, the non psychotic version of “all work and no play makes Johnny…”: it’s to make a writer get into the routine of putting words down on paper (or screen etc).

Anyway, I tried it for a few years back in the late 1990s, early 2000s but never reached the 50,000 word count to be classed as a “winner”. I think the best I got was 25000 words and that was a push. I did like the fact that you could meet up in person with other people in your local area, and also interact with people on the forums. I moved back to the UK in 2006 and things never seemed to come together enough for me to even consider taking part.

This has been the first year since 2006 that I’ve even been aware that Nano has been taking place. There’s chatter from friends on Social Media about it – which I suspect they do every year, I simply don’t notice! However, I have no specific story I want to attempt this year, though I’ve decided to review some of my upcoming posts and see if they can be written differently. Perhaps not “better” just “different”!

Anyone else doing Nano? Or something towards it, if not doing the full challenge? Have you experience of doing it previously and if so, how did you find it?

3 thoughts on “#Nanowrimo – who is taking part this year?

  1. I’m doing it in order to get my research project written up – it’s working so far, which is fab, as I find it hard to make the time and put in the effort to work on it, and it would be nice to have it in book form before it’s totally out of date!

    Like

Leave a Reply

