May’s State of the Union

The Story So Farbookshelf

Well it’s not quite the half way mark for 2015 and perhaps this is a good as time as any to do a checkpoint.

After nearly a year of loading previously written book reviews, you might be glad/interested to know that I have now run out of “stuff I have written before”. I have no more in the buffer in terms of book reviews.

At the beginning of the year I also made the concious decision to not give myself a reading target, and read when I felt like it. This means I’ve read about 30 books this year so far and reviewed virtually all of them.

Whilst my traffic started out quite high it’s slipped a little. Still not back to where it was last year, but it’s still on shaky ground and perhaps it’s time I stepped up my game here a little if I’m to come close to my 2015 resolutions (note to self, go read them again and perhaps pin them on wall somewhere!). I’ve recently checked my Google stats and it seems i’ve been dropped off the indexing so I’ve gone from having 800+ pages being indexed to 44 which is a little worrying and I’m trying to work out why

So what’s the outlook for the rest of the year?

I still have other posts scheduled into next year – primarily Sunday Salon and stitch related posts moved over from a previous blog. Book reviews though? The drop in my reading rate means that reviews will be coming as and when I finish a book, not 6 months down the line, as was the case at the back end of last year. There are some Christmas related ones that I read late last year that are scheduled this December so those will come up sooner than you think

Design by Amber of Shelf Notes
Design by Amber of Shelf Notes

I’m going to aim to take part in more community sessions too – the upcoming ArmchairBEA sessions (posts already prepared!) as an example. I might do more sewing posts to show you a Work In Progress.

For every ebook I read, I am also trying to read a paper book, which means I am reading back list as well as front list. You may have possibly seen the shift in focus in my reviews (I hope you have!) and perhaps find the additional information useful.   The paperbooks are often longer than the ebooks however, so that is one of the reasons my reading rate has slowed (yeah yeah, excuses!).

On Writing.

I don’t know if this is the universe ganging up on me or whether I’m just seeing things that aren’t there but there have been a few collisions around writing (hearing about new-to-me writers groups, feeling a little more voluble whilst writing, wondering if I should attempt Nanowrimo this year – if only I can come up with an idea in time!).  So I don’t know if you’ll see more posts out of me that are not necessarily book related, just word related.

So: at the end of May how you doing? How’s the blog coming along? you still excited?

 

 

2 thoughts on “May’s State of the Union

  1. It’s nice to stop and assess, I think. But it’s also important for me not too take that assessment too seriously….I’m not a serious blogger. Just a reader. Just a reader who likes to talk books with other people.

    Here’s my Sunday Salon.

    Like

    • it was good to stop and look – for no other reason that to realise that there was something seriously wrong with my stats! Of course after 4 months of letting things slip, I want everything fixed NOW!

      It’ also allowed me to work on my twitter activity (another one of my resolutions), and note how much traffic I was getting when google didnt know about me!

      Like

Leave a Reply

