#ArmchairBEA – Introductions

Design by Amber of Shelf Notes
Design by Amber of Shelf Notes

As per tradition on ArmchairBEA, it’s time for the introductions. There are a set of 10 questions over on the Intro post, and we are asked to answer 5 of them

Tell us a bit about yourself: How long have you been blogging? Where are you from? How did you get into blogging?

I’ve been blogging in one form and another since about 2008, but I’ve had this specific blog since 2012. I primarily use it to capture what I personally think of books, and in part to pre-empt the questions of “have you read any good books recently?” especially from those who I know get a feed from this blog.

Why do you loving reading and blogging?

I love reading because it gives me a certain level of escape that I dont necessarily get from watching TV or listening to music. I like for a book (or a comic etc) to take me to a different place, however briefly.
Blogging allows me to exercise a muscle that I dont use as much as I used to – my writing muscle. It allows me to gather my thoughts about something that I’ve just read and capture it down somewhere – I have been too prone in the past to forget about a book almost as soon as I’ve finished it – or even not paid attention during the read. Knowing that I will make myself write a post afterwards concentrates the mind a little! I have a set of questions as a template for when writing a review – I dont think I’ve ever answered all the questions, but they give me a way of structuring my post in a way that I hope is useful and interesting.

What does diversity mean to you?

To me Diversity means never limiting yourself to one style, author, genre or setting. Not only can this be repetitive and boring, reading the same thing over and over, but it means you dont learn new things. If you dont read sci-fi, how can your imagination grow to think of “what could be”? If you dont read far east (as well as far west) literature how can you learn about other cultures? If you only read historical tomes, you are living in the past, not thinking of the future. If you only read comics, you never let your mind’s eye develop it’s own view.

What book are you reading right now?

 I’ve been reading a lot of Historical Romances recently and I think I’m going to move over to The White Lie by Andrea Gillies, which starts with a death (maybe)

Take a picture of your bookshelf and share it with us! 🙂 (#ABEAShelfie)

The picture on the left is of the books that I intend (ha!) to read, then give away. The picture on the rights contains (mainly) the books I intend to keep.  It’s a rough guide as there are books on each shelf that should really be on the other one! It doesn’t show the books that are on the coffee table, or the bedside table, or……(after taking these pictures, I have tidied the shelves – a little bit! – so that books that were overhanging shelves on the right have been moved over to the left…..)

TBR Shelf 1 Shelf 2

13 thoughts on “#ArmchairBEA – Introductions

  1. I really like your diversity answer. A different take on it from what I’ve seen so far. But you’re right . . . if you don’t read different genres and topics, how will you learn something new? Great answer!!

    Happy ABEA!

    Like

  2. I love looking at everyone’s shelves. Too funny that you organize that way. My kids always say “Which ones are you keeping” to which I have one tiny shelf.

    Like

Leave a Reply

