Sunday Salon: Writing Reviews

 

 

 

 

TSSbadge1Before I started blogging, I wrote some appalling reviews, something along the lines of “nice easy read, enjoyable”. Some were a little better, but still not great. When setting up this blog I trawled through the book reviews I had elsewhere, and was embarrassed by what I’d written. I’d look at the book and then  wonder what it was about, when I’d read it etc. Enjoyable? probably. Unmemorable? Clearly!

Since I’ve started blogging, long before I started getting books from publishers, I decided I Must Do Better when writing reviews. I now write reviews for the majority of books I read, but not all. I also know parts of my audience, and there are somethings I wont share with them, so a tiny percentage of the books I read dont get a review written.

These reviews are primarily for me – so I can remember what went on in the story, and roughly what I thought about the book. It’s enjoyable to see a review pop up several months after I’ve read the book, and quite often I’ll go “ooh, that sounds a good book, would like to read that” only to realise I already have!

The reviews are for the authors and publishers, especially for the lesser well known authors, in order for the word to get out there and a little bit of chatter for them.

The reviews are finally for the people who follow this blog – they might just find the one book that can set them down another route and find another author or genre for them to follow

Do you write a review for every book you read or only review copies from publishers?

7 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Writing Reviews

  1. No way do I review every book I read. Some books simply don’t lend themselves to reviews very well. I do review them at least for publishers sake if I got them from Net Galley or Edelweiss and I try hard to review all my for-review books. I have a better strategy now than I did a few months ago. I’ve been blogging off and on for 6 and a half years, but the last couple of years have been really hard on me physically and health-wise and I soon realized I was having trouble with my memory because of the medications I am on for chronic pain. So I have a system now to review as quickly as possible after I finish a book and take notes during the reading of the book. I won’t finish a book before bed because if I do, chances are the review won’t get written. Hopefully this strategy will serve me well now.

    As far as reviews when I first started blogging, they were not that great when I look back on them. I’ve heard of bloggers going back and changing them to help boost those pages’ stats, but I kind of like to be able to look back on the journey I’ve taken and see the progress. I also see so much enthusiasm in some of those old reviews and I’d hate to accidentally damper that by messing with them too much. 🙂

    Like

  2. I’m so far behind with reviews that I suppose my answer to your question is that clearly no I don’t review every book I read. I would like to however briefly since I use them to remind myself of what i was reading at a particular time in my life and what I thought about that book.

    Like

  3. I try to write a review about every book I read, even if it’s a mini-review. I haven’t gotten an ARC for a while, though, because I gave up blogging for a while, and when I restarted I began with a new blog. So I have a total of 2 followers so far. 🙂

    Like

  4. With occasional exceptions, I only review books which meet the self-imposed and entirely arbitrary criteria for my blog (pre-1987 crime fiction). So if I fancy a rest from reviewing, or simple don’t have time, I just read something different.

    Like

    • seems a decent criteria! You do what works for you. I know some of those that get my feed (i.e. my mother!) so there are some books that I simply dont review! ahem

      Like

Leave a Reply

