Sunday Salon: Keeping track of Books and their source

The Sunday Salon badgeI wrote a post on a very similar subject a few years ago, but have decided to update my post and share again.

There are a number of sources I get my books from: My Bookcrossing friends; Christmas and Birthday presents; Netgalley; Librarything; direct from Publishers and authors; occasionally, just occasionally, I will go and buy one in a shop!

I currently don’t keep an independent track of the books that I’ve picked up along the way.  The sites where I usually request books from (netgalley, librarything etc) allow me to mark the books that I’ve won within their own site.

When I “win” something from the publishers on a site like twitter, it’s always a bonus “gift”, doesn’t happen that often, and I like to keep it as a surprise when it turns up! I had got so used to ebooks arriving via email at one point I was surprised when a paperbook actually arrived in the post one day as I’d forgotten I’d even requested it (I couldn’t remember whether I’d won it from a publisher comp on twitter or if I’d requested it on Librarything!).

I’ve played around with a number of tools to keep track of the books I have to read, and where I got them from, but as yet have yet to find one that suits the sheer volume of books I have from various sources! I’ve tried Excel, a database, Evernote etc, but have yet to find the tracking software that caters for a TBR like mine in a way I like!

ETA: following writing this post, I’ve decided on way of tracking things – by using the tag function on Goodreads and Librarything. Since I use the sites to track my bookshelf anyway, it makes sense that when I add a book in, I use an extra tab to track things – so far it’s working well!

How does everyone else track their stuff? Does everyone use Premium Evernonte? What do you do?

6 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Keeping track of Books and their source

  1. I used to completely forget where all my books came from but then I spotted a friend’s super simple system: she writes it in the front of the book, along with the date. Genius! She has lovely handwriting, which helps. And when a book is a gift, she asks that the giver write in a note. So I’ve adopted that system.

    Like

    • ha! Must remember that one! Should consider doing that for the books I’m going to keep, but it’s the ebooks and the ones that go off the shelves after reading that need to be kept an eye on

      Like

  2. i keep it simple by just using an excel spreadsheet within Google docs. that way i can access it wherever i am. I note the date i acquired the book and how/where – some of the entries are very simple like the name of the shop, or if it was a gift.

    Like

  3. This is a very good question, although it’s not that I need to keep track of where my books come from. Mine come from one of two sources: I either buy them myself from Amazon or else I borrow them from the library.

    What I want to start tracking is where I heard about the book. What made me say “Ooo that sounds good!” and then grab it from Amazon or throw it on a wait list at the library. By the time the book arrives, I’ve already forgotten why I wanted to read it.

    Not sure the best way to keep track of those kind of details.

    Like

Leave a Reply

