Sunday Salon: Recording ideas

TSSbadge1

Previously I wrote on how I load content into my blog, and this a related post.

  • Not all my posts are straight book review posts. Some, like this one, are “free text” on a specific subject, and have taken over from the random “blog prompts” that I used to do whenever the urge took me! Now these posts are slightly more regular, in that the book related posts go out on a Sunday, and craft related ones go out on a Friday.   Many of these posts have already been written – to a better or worse quality! – and scheduled in advance. It gives a certain structure to the blog, but also allows me to forward plan and think on the other posts I want or need to write.
  • I have an unpublished post on this blog where I dump prompts or ideas for potential posts, in some form of theme (“top tens”, “favourite…..” etc). When I’m feeling inspired, I reach into that post to look for a subject I might be interested in, and start riffing on that. It’s very rare that I’ll have a post ready to go in one sitting, so I save it as a draft, and come back to it maybe days, weeks or months later and tweak it. Some posts are better than others and some are more successful than others.  I might not do a post related directly to a specific topic (e.g. “book with a red cover”), but I might spin that off into a post on which covers attract me, and the type of cover that will make me buy a book or put me off.
  • Once the specific post is well on its way, I will schedule it well in advance (some time in 2022 for instance) – this is a trick I picked up somewhere, after I had hit the “publish” button on one too many unformed and incomplete posts. Not only does this help me not publish a post before it’s ready, but once done it allows me to move posts around and schedule them as I feel fit – this can be anything to 4 months in advance!

So how about you, constant reader – how do you capture and develop ideas?

 

5 thoughts on “Sunday Salon: Recording ideas

  1. You are super organised in scheduling posts like this. I know it’s recommended practice but I’ve never got into the habit. I do have plenty of incomplete draft posts but somehow they stay drafts! I’m interested in the prompts you mention – how does that work?

    Like

    • I collect topics from other websites, e.g. blogs or even bookshops sites, and since I’m rarely in the position to write about it there or then, they get saved in a big post. Whenever I feel the need to write something, I trawl through this collection and write about anything that takes my fancy. Sometimes I dont write to the original topic, sometimes it’ll kick something else off

      You are certainly happy to have a copy – email me an address (my details are on the site, or DM me over on twitter) and I’ll send you a copy.

      Like

  2. I jot down all future post ideas in a notebook that I carry with me pretty much all of the time! It seems to work out well for me to track the ideas. I’m not as good at acting on them, though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

