MyReadersBlock Reading Challenge – 3 Month Checkpoint

MY READER'S BLOCK_ 2016 Mount TBR Reading Challenge

 

As I mentioned at the end of last year, I was going to take part in one reading challenge in 2016 and I chose the Mt TBR challenge over at My Reader’s Block.  There’s the chance to post details of your reviews each month, and every three months there’s a quarterly (personal) update as to how each participant is going against their challenge.

The “problem” that I’ve had over the last few years is that I’ve been concentrating on reading “forward list” books – i.e. those books that are in the process of being published, often by people who are starting out, or don’t yet have a large following. It gets me some traffic, but not huge amounts. Many of these books are ebooks, often in galley format, so it’s nigh on impossible to pass these books on, to help build word of mouth. One of the reasons for taking on this challenge was to look at the paper books already in my possession (an ever expanding, scary pile) and look to get through some of what can be classed as “back list”.

In compiling the list it appears I am already significantly behind in my goals for the year, so need to get a move on!

Below are the books that I have read in this quarter, and links to their reviews, where they’ve already available.

Beezelbelle by Heide Goode and Iain M Grant

Amazing Fantastic Incredible: A Marvelous Memoir by Stan Lee, Peter David, Colleen Doran (Illustrator)

Peony In Love by Lisa See

The Curse of Besti Bori By Simon Fairbanks

Mary Green by Melanie Kerr – review to come soon

At the Edge of the Orchard, by Tracey Chevalier. (This was picked up in Feb 2016, so doesn’t count towards the Mt TBR total).  Review still to be written

Tainted Tokay by Jean-Pierre Alaux.  This is the latest Winemaker Detective story, and one that doesn’t count towards my TBR Total.  Review to come soon.

The Duke’s Accidental Wife by Erica Ridley    (This was picked up at the beginning of this year, so doesn’t count towards the total). Review to come soon

Books Currently “on the go”:

The Silent Hours by Cesca Major

Reader, I Married him, Tracey Chevalier, plus others.  This is a collection of short stories, so may take me a while to complete.

 

2 thoughts on “MyReadersBlock Reading Challenge – 3 Month Checkpoint

Leave a Reply

