Parajunkee’s Summertime Challenge – Vacation Spots (part 2)

Parajunkee Summertime week 2

Today on Parajunkee’s Summertime Blog and reader Challenge and the theme is “Summer Vacation Spots you wouldn’t want to go”.

I am a heat lover (as long as I am in walking distance of a swimming pool and don’t have to deal with y’know….sand). However, there are a couple of places that I wouldn’t like to go, especially in the middle of summer.

  • First of all: Egypt. Whilst I love the thought of Egypt,  all that history and archaeology, Death on The Nile etc….Egypt in June/July?  Are you nuts?  Even with my ability to tan (or at least not go red), I’m not sure I would survive the 45C+ temps. Simply: No.
  • For a similar if not the same reason: The Far East. Singapore/Hong Kong etc. I mind the heat less than the humidity. 98% humidity – no matter the temp – and you can forget it. My hair reacts badly to moisture (think “Labradoodle” and you’re close – and that’s in England)…..increase the temp AND the humidity? No, Not happening.  Part of me wouldn’t mind doing Vietnam/Cambodia etc, but……
  • Morocco/North Africa. Let’s get something straight. I’m short, fat, blue-eyed, white and pale-skinned, foreign, female. The only thing that could make me more attractive to the North Africans would be if I was blond (so exotic!). I don’t deal well with being man-handled, arse pinched and hit on every three foot whilst shopping – another activity I don’t care for. I could be completely wrong here, but I’ve heard enough stories (true or apocryphal, I don’t know), to not want to take the chance, especially if not in a large group of people.

 

2 thoughts on “Parajunkee’s Summertime Challenge – Vacation Spots (part 2)

  1. I agree with your choices – I wouldn’t go there either. I am blonde, blue-eyed and voluptuous so I think I can definitely stay away from Morocco and North Africa for life. I would love to visit Egypt one day, though not in summer.

    Like

    • My dad got offered 10,000 Visa Camels for my mum (who is like me, only blond). Backed out when my mother insisted on 30,000

      Like

Leave a Reply

