Parajunkee’s Summertime blog and reader challenge – Favourite Summer place to read

Parajunkee Summertime week 2

 

It’s the end of week 2 on Parajunkee’s Summertime Blog and Reader Challenge, and today’s topic is “Favorite Summer Place to Read, where do you love to read during the summer?”

I was brought up in England to Irish parents. Growing up, there was a mix between reading as a decent and useful pastime, combined with limited reasonable weather…..so the minute it wasn’t raining there was the usual refrain of “don’t waste the sunshine” (even if there was none to waste), and “what are you doing locked inside when the sun is shining” (i.e. it’s daylight, hasn’t rained in 20 mins, and the ambient temp is above zero).

As a result, I find immense Catholic guilt (yes, a big C) about being inside when the sun is shining. Doesnt matter if housework needs to be done, THE SUN IS SHINING!  Therefore I do like to read outside, sitting in the sun. It does not matter what country it is in – England or abroad, it’s irrelevant. Last summer holiday (I was in Crete) I spent 7 days beside the pool and I believe i read 8 ebooks during my holiday. By the pool, On the balcony at 6 am before breakfast. At the bar after dinner. Doesn’t matter. My holiday, I can do what I want!

Leave a Reply

