Reader Confessions Tag

I was trawling twitter one day and found this post over at BathTimeReads, so decided to give it a go!

bookish problem 111

  1. Have you ever damaged a book? 

As per all good IT consultants, the answer is “it depends”. In my teens I did go through a phase of using the highlighter pen and biro to note specific text. I think it was actually encouraged at school for a brief period.

As I’ve got older I got out of that, and started using bookmarks, rather than turning the corner down. Most of the damage is now, if I have a paperbook in my handbag which gets battered around and some of the pages turned over. It’s one of the reasons why I started using an ebook during the daily commute

  1. Have you ever damaged a borrowed book?

Never! I know how upset I would be if someone damaged one of my books that I had leant out, so why would I do it to someone elses?

  1. How long does it take you to read a book?

If I’m enjoying a book, then a 400 pager will take a couple of days (where I have no other commitments).  A week, max. If I find that I’m taking longer, it’s usually because I’m not enjoying it.  A 200 page book that’s still there 3 weeks later? Ditch it.

  1. Books that you haven’t finished?

I have so many books to read that I am now old enough not to finish a book if I’m not into it. One such book being Beloved by Toni Morrison. In fact I’ve written posts of what would make me declare a book as a DNF

  1. Hyped/Popular books that you don’t like?

I usually avoid reading Hyped books when they are being hyped – I like to see whether the book actually stands the test of time, and people are still raving about it even a year later. I started reading Gone Girl , didnt get on with it (and I see people have stopped talking about even the film, so – that good huh?).  I heard Girl on the Train was being placed as “the next Gone Girl”. Well I didn’t like the original, so it’s a pass, thanks

  1. Is there a book you wouldn’t tell anyone you were reading?

Only books where they are a little too sexy (you know what I mean!) for my audience. And no, I’ve not read 50 shades, and dont plan to

  1. How many books do you own?

More books than reasonably sit on my bookshelves. They have overspilt to the coffee table, and a big 18litre box in the corner. I really must do something about that.

  1. Are you a fast reader or a slow reader?

I’m relatively fast, and in previous years I’ve read over 100 books in any given year. The last two years however, I’ve not set myself a goodreads challenge, so am concentrating on quality rather than quantity.

  1. Do you like to buddy read?

I read a lot of front list books which means I’m rarely reading the books that other people are reading at the time they’re reading it.  I dont belong to a bookgroup, and usually dont read to a set schedule (though I’ve read a couple recently)

  1. Do you read better in your head or out loud?

I do read better in my head – though I like being read to, so audiobooks are definitely a thing for me (even if I am known for falling asleep part way through and waking up having NO idea what’s going on!)

  1. If you were only allowed to own one book, what would it be and why?

Possibly Jane Eyre, as each time I read it (which I havent for a while) I find something different in it.

To Finish

I suspect this started out as a game of “tag”, but I wont tag anyone specifically – so if you want to take part, feel free to take the questions and post something on your own blog! (let me know where you publish, via the comments, so that people can visit you to find out your answers!)

 

Leave a Reply

