Reading Update

Well it’s been nearly a month since the last (physical) book came into the house, but for some reason my reading has been sparse, and my reviewing even less so. There’s at least 3 books that I have completed where I have almost finished the reviews for but for which I still need to go over again to make sure I’m happy.

cluffI started reading The Female Detective by Andrew Forrester, having seen Bookertalk‘s review of it, and I think I know what she was getting at. I subsequently found that British Library Crime Classics publishing books get on netgalley via Poisoned Pen Press, and asked, then got, three books in. Sergeant Cluff Stands Firm is the first of the three I started and, well, it’s a diffthe lavender houseerent style of writing, and one that I’m going to take a while getting used to.
The Lavender House by Hilary Boyd is the last book in the #Quercussummer event, and it’s the last physical book to come in. It’s been sitting there since the first week in August and since it’s now week three, and I really should review it by the end of the month (ish) I decided I had better get cracking. The only one of the three to be in hardback, I’ve done 150 pages so far, and doing ok.

So the plan is to finish The Lavender House, complete and schedule some reviews, finish the Sergeant Cluff book, take another run at The Female Detective…and then who knows? There’s still a lot of books on my shelves that need to be got through and I am, apparently 5 books behind my challenge of reading 60 books this year, which is appalling by my standards. I just haven’t sat down and done a good run at reading this year for some reason.

4 thoughts on “Reading Update

  1. I’ll be keen to know how you get on with the British classics you just had via netgalley. I have one more in the series to read and I’m told by a blogger whose opinion I value that its a good one. but it does seem you have to choose carefully

    Like

    • The Sargent Cluff one I’m reading is interesting in the total change in writing style to the others. It’s not one of the cosy 1920 crime ones, rather it’s written in the 1960s and the sentences can be short, and certainly little exposition or clues! Having gone to 11 books in the series, this style must have been popular enough though!

      Like

  2. Stick with Sergeant Cluff – it took me a while to get used to the style too, but I found it really grabbed me in the second half and I ended up loving the book. I’ve managed to snaffle the next one they’ve released – The Methods of Segeant Cluff – and am looking forward to seeing if it’s as good.

    Liked by 1 person

    • If “The Methods” is the 2nd in the Cluff series, then that’s the other one I’ve got. I’m sure I’ll get used to it – it’s just a shock after reading Ngaio Marsh and John Bude to now be reading the “hip and trendy” 1960s stuff!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

