It’s August so it must be Christmas

So, it’s mid August and therefore the middle of summer (at least here in the northern hemisphere). That means there are two states of mind that co-exist in the bloggersphere: First, there’s a general apathy going around and it’s not just with the book bloggers. I follow several bloggers in other niches, more than one of whom has voiced a dissatisfaction with blogging in general and their niche in particular. Specifically it is the ones that have been doing blogging for a number of years: there is a loss of impetus, and a loss of interest about what’s on offer/new/the spin they can put on things. It’s certainly something I’ve been feeling, as I believe it’s one of the reasons behind my recent lack of reading and reviewing (as mentioned in my reading update earlier in the week).
Card-Book-2
The second, perhaps opposing state of mind is: it’s 4.5 months to Christmas. This affects bloggers in different ways, depending on the niche. For crafters, there’s a case for “Christmas in July” which is when they start creating stuff ahead of the holiday period (and for the Yanks, it really means “Thanksgiving in July”). So: cue knitting, stitching, card making, scrapbooking and general craftiness in the summer months in readiness for the winter holiday season. (The item opposite is an example of the crafty things from Sandy’s Crafty Creations). The TV shows on the relevant channels start going haywire with offers for the winter months.    Thankfully the Festival Of Quilts up at the NEC at the beginning of August wasn’t primed for Christmas themes, but it could have been!  I haven’t done any cross stitch for months, and generally don’t make anything to give away. I am currently working on a quilt top, using some old fabric I picked up in the early 1990s (does anyone remember the pink themed Laura Ashley quilt fabric?!).

For book bloggers, now is the time for the front lists to start being filled for the Christmas lists, e.g. Christmas themed romances, the books being prepped to get on the “Super Thursday” lists (which happens early October) and the requests for front list bloggers to consider scheduling their slots between now and the end of the year. In fact I got my first Christmas themed galley yesterday!  At the moment I have no other themed books for the rest of the year, and am currently not planning on any other themes this year – the mood I’ve been in this year means it’s not really worth planning as I wont keep to it!

For lifestyle and household design bloggers (once the “return to school” run has finished) it’ll be a case of how to decorate the house for autumn/Thanksgiving/Christmas.  Being European, Thanksgiving is not a huge influence, and where I live does not exactly go for Halloween, so there is no pressure for Trick or Treating, or decorating the non-existent porch in carved pumpkins. The biggest thing for us here is Christmas, and after decorating my parents’ house last year, I was in no mood to do it all again in my own place, so I don’t actually remember even putting the tree up. I’ve not brought new decorations in several years – some of my decorations date back to when I had my first flat in the early 1990s, and so I might be on the look out to start collecting something new.  I’ve previously picked up small pieces in the Birmingham German Market, but have been disillusioned with this for several years now, and don’t venture in at all during the 6 weeks or so that it’s on. With the current building works going on around the old Central Library, there will have to be some changes as to what’s situated where, and I’ve found out that it now goes on even longer this year than before! woe! I have a number of themed magazines going back over the last few years, making suggestions as to how to decorate the house.  I might actually go back through some of these magazines to see what the mentioned companies are producing now, otherwise I might just hit ebay. (ETA: I’ve just been reminded that IKEA has opened one of it’s smaller stores in Dale End, Birmingham. I may have to visit).

For the food bloggers, some will get excited by the influx of the winter foods (something I might get excited about). The pumpkins and squashes, the thick hearty soups, an excuse to go into carb coma with all the root veg and the bread based stuffings. The magazines will soon start telling us how to cook the perfect Christmas cake (hint: buy it). On the other hand – there’s what to have for the festive meals, how many versions of potatoes to cook this year, and worst of all – the Christmas meal out with friends/social group/work.  With my main social group it can be hard to find places that cater for those of us who have specific dietary needs –  vegetarians, specific allergies/intolerance such as gluten, general fussy eaters – never mind choosing a date that suits most people!

So dear constant reader: how are you doing during these fine summer months? Hit a block in your blogging routine? what are you doing to break it? What are you thinking about with regards to the rest of the year (inside or outside your niche)?

 

2 thoughts on “It’s August so it must be Christmas

  1. I have t noticed any special increase in apathy thiugh I have seen a few long term bloggers disappear…I put it down to the fact so many people are on holiday in Europe right now. Once school starts back we will see an upturn in activity as people enrol for adult and community run classes I’m sure.

    Like

    • It seems to happen on the changing of the seasons, so there’s generally a drop in spring/autumn and then a hiatus in summer. I’ve come across at least 4 in the last week or so deciding to go quiet because they’re in the “meh” phase. Perhaps they just need a break!

      Like

Leave a Reply

