The Act of Reading

Recently I wrote a post about producing content, and one of the tricks was to have one or more “buckets” of prompts for when content dries up.  In reviewing one of these buckets, I found a number of prompts that I think work well together.

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?Birmingham and Midlands Institute Library

Generally it’s the bedroom and, occasionally, the bathroom!

Bookmark or a random piece of paper?

I have a stock of bookmarks on my bookshelf, but still tend to use the same bookmark over and over until it falls apart or I lose it. It’s rare therefore that I simply dont have a bookmark on me – at which point I will use a random piece of paper – usually a receipt or a train ticket. I haven’t – gasp – turned down a corner in years.

Can you stop reading anytime you want or do you have to stop at a certain page, chapter, part, ect.?

I tend to stop at the end of a chapter, unless time or opportunity runs out on me (e.g. the train is pulling into the station and it’s 8 more pages to the end of the chapter). I can’t stop in the middle of  a paragraph, so finish at the end of the paragraph or the page, which ever is neater.

Reading at home or everywhere?

I read everywhere. I am notorious for it, and sometimes get told off for reading instead of eating my dinner! Since I frequently eat out on my own, I favour restaurants that afford me the luxury of being a solo diner without giving me much grief. One of the cues to not being disturbed is to have a book on hand, though this doesn’t always work – I’ve had one guy try and start a conversation every time I looked up from my book (I left quite quickly once it became clear he wasn’t taking the hint); I’ve had a guy try and pick me up in an otherwise empty pub as I was sitting there minding my own business (I started talking Greek to him – he soon left!),

Do you eat or drink while reading?

As per the above, I do read in restaurants, and therefore can have food with me. I tend to favour ebooks at this point – simply because they are easier to read when using both hands to deal with my food. I tend not to read whilst eating at home – I generally have the TV on instead

Can you read while listening to music/watching TV?

Music yes, Spoken word (including TV and radio) not really – I can’t have two sets of words crowding my brain at the same time – one wins over the over. I can have the TV on in the other room whilst reading, as I don’t like being in silence too long

One book at a time, or several at once?

I usually have two on the go at the same time – an ebook and a paperback. Ebook is usually in the handbag and the paperbook is occasionally thrust into the handbag, otherwise is on the bedside table.

Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Normally in my head – it’s generally only when I’m reading to my nieces and nephews that it gets said out loud.

Do you read ahead or skip pages?

Oh yeah – I’ve been known to read the last page long before I’ve got even part way through. I think it’s because I read a lot of crime novels, and I simply want to know who I need to pay attention to as I’m reading the book. I dont feel it takes away from the process of reading and the journey taken to get to the end.

Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

I’m not too precious on this – I will pick up second hand books where the spine has been broken, and if I have a paperback, I will break the spine if I find it will make reading that bit easier. However, I don’t do it on every book, especially if there’s no reason to.

Do you write in books?

Not for a long time! I went through a phase in my teens when I did (it was also encouraged, briefly, at school) but apart from that, no.

 

So feel free to copy and answer these questions on your own blog – leave a link below so we can see how you answer!  If you dont have a blog, or only want to answer a few questions, leave something in the comments

4 thoughts on “The Act of Reading

    • My brother swears he can both listen to the audio version and read the written version of a book *at the same time*. Nah, never going to happen!

      Like

Leave a Reply

