#ArmchairBEA: Visual Expressions

Design by Amber of Shelf Notes
Design by Amber of Shelf Notes

Visual Expressions
There are so many ways to tell stories. Whether it’s comic books, graphic novels, visual novels, webcomics, etc, there are quite a lot of other mediums to tell a story. On this day, we will be talking about those books and formats that move beyond just words and use other ways to experience a story.

I live in the same city in the UK that I lived in in the late 1980s when I went to Uni. It was the 1980s and Uni that lead me into reading and buying comics – I’m not sure that the phrase “Graphic Novel” was heavily in use then. When I moved to Ireland in the mid 1990s, I unfortunately made the decision to get rid of my comics – of which I had a decent collection at that time. I moved back here in 2006 and have been collecting comics/Graphic Novels ever since.   The same shop (and some of the same staff!) is there from the 1980s.   There’s a great community around it, with fund raising, drinking down the pub, and even out of hours tweeting by and between staff.

I have several nieces and nephews and I have already converted at least one to enjoying reading Comics – including the English classics of “The Beano” and “The Dandy”. He has recently started reading some of the “Asterix” books too.

In terms of what I’m reading right now: Lots of Marvel and DC comics, so Captain America, Avengers, Spiderman, Wonderwoman etc. I am also trying to branch out into other houses and writers – the good thing about this year’s Free Comic Book Day (FCBD) which was on Saturday May 2nd, is that it seems that the comic book houses have twigged it’s a great opportunity to get new readers to view new stories, characters or lines. I managed to pick up several comics on the day and there are already new lines I have an eye on.

As with many industries, especially the general entertainment one, there has been some progression in terms of gender and sexual equality within the comic book world but plenty more still to do. Whilst on one hand there’s Orson Scott Card, on the other there’s Gail Simone.

 

10 thoughts on “#ArmchairBEA: Visual Expressions

  1. This is a genre I know little about, and I think it is much more popular in the US than here in the UK, though I do think that is changing. Love that that shop is still there, with some of the same staff!

    Like

    • I’ve always known about it, so it’s always been on my radar. Though it’s nice to see how many people are in the shop on a saturday, including adults bring children (watching girlfriends being there on sufferage is hilarioous!) and how many people attend the drinking nights out

      Like

  2. There must be plenty of comic lovers out there as we have a designated comic book shop in my town, and in a town where we have ONE sole bookstore this is quite amazing 🙂 Due to this #ArmchairBEA event I have told myself that I will be trying new mediums and have already got 2 books in my list and will be trying out a manga. I hope my local library has some comics for me to try out too 😀 This is what I love about events like these, it introduces you to new books, or in this case mediums.

    Like

    • Try and find a copy of Saga Volume 1 – a lot of people are loving it, and it’s not from one of the big houses…..

      Like

    • get em whilst they’re young! the 1st Saturday of May is Free Comic Book Day (#FCBD) which was brilliant this year – lots of child friendly comics came out!

      Like

  3. Aaah the Asterix comics were a major part of my childhood, I loved those. I have only recently gotten into super-hero comics but I’m working on expanding my collection! I think comics would be a great place to push diversity and equality, if the business could just agree on doing that! I hope I see you at the Twitter chat tonight! Thanks for sharing 🙂 Can’t wait to read the rest of your BEA posts!
    My BEA post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    Like

    • Try and get a copy of Saga Volume 1. I havent met anyone who doesnt adore it (yet!) and it’s not from one of the big houses, so support the indies!

      Like

  4. Hi Nordie. I don’t know much about graphic novels other than what I learned in a graphic novel class at Full Sail while I was working on my MFA in Creative Writing. I’m a historical romance author but I have some ideas for some graphic novels that I would love to get printed someday. I was introduced to the Avengers mainly through television. There are a couple of graphic novels and mangas that I want to read someday.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.