2019 Reading Challenges and Readathons

In gathering up 2019 Reading Challenges to share on the @BXBrum Twitter account, I’ve realised I’ve found more than I ever thought I would, and that tweeting them individually would perhaps be confusing and laborious.  So I’ve decided to write a post to share them too. Please note that if links aren’t hyperlinks, it’s because I’ve not got access to the technology. I’m working on it. This IS a WIP.

I may change the order or format in due course, but I’m grouping similar challenges together, and then the others are in alphabetical order. If you know of any others, feel free to leave a link below.

Christmas Related

Just Another Girl and her Books: 12 Books of Christmas Challenge ’18 https://justanothergirlandherbooks.blogspot.com/p/12-books-of-christmas-challenge-18.html

Whole Latte Ideas: 2018 WholeLatteXmas Readathon Info and Sign Ups https://www.wholelatteideas.net/2018/11/2018-wholelattexmas-readathon-info-and.html

SHORT-A-THON 2018 – DECEMBER 21-31 to focus solely on the shortest books you ownhttps://booksandmunches.com/2018/11/09/short-a-thon-2018/

 

Romance Challenges

The Bad Boys of Romance Reading Challenge 2019 http://delightedreader.com/the-bad-boys-of-romance-reading-challenge-2019-sign-up/

Contemporary Romance Reading Challenge 2019 https://andiabcs.com/2018/11/30/sign-up-contemporary-romance-reading-challenge-2019/

 

Diverse Reading Challenges

Diversity Reading Challenge https://luktenavtrykksverte.blogspot.com/2018/11/2019-diversity-reading-challenge.html

Sirens Reading Challenge, supporting women and non binary authors in the Fantasy genre https://www.sirensconference.org/connect/readingchallenge.html

Reading Women Challenge https://www.readingwomenpodcast.com/reading-women-challenge-2019/ #ReadingWomenChallenge

 

Classic Book Reading Challenges

A classic a month Reading Challenge 2019 https://theperksofbeingnourablog.wordpress.com/2018/12/05/a-classic-a-month-reading-challenge-2019/amp/

Victorian Reading Challenge https://blbooks.blogspot.com/2018/11/2019-victorian-reading-challenge.html

12 Children’s Classics for 2019 http://bookhippie.com/index.php/2018/09/05/12-childrens-classics-for-2019/

Back to the Classics 2019 https://jannghi.blogspot.com/2018/12/back-to-classics-2019.html

Georgian Reading Challenge https://blbooks.blogspot.com/2018/11/2019-georgian-reading-challenge.htm

Historical Fiction Reading Challenge http://www.passagestothepast.com/2018/10/2019-historical-fiction-reading.html #2019HistFicReadingChallenge

Back to the Classics 2019 https://jannghi.blogspot.com/2018/12/back-to-classics-2019.html

 

eReader

It’s time for #COYER! Let us help clean out your ereader!  http://coyerchallenge.com/2018/11/01/coyer-winter-is-here-going-back-to-basics-again/

Do you want to challenge yourself to read more eBooks? Join #ForTheLoveOfEbooks19 today! Sign ups are now open! https://wp.me/p7XOfa-1yA

Crime

Agatha Christie 52 Books in 52 Weeks http://www.read52booksin52weeks.com/p/agatha-christie-perpetual-challenge.html

Cloak and Dagger 2019 sign up https://www.booksmoviesreviewsohmy.com/cloak-and-dagger-2019-sign-up/

I Spy Reading Challenge https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/362261-i-spy-reading-challenge

British Crime Classics https://thebookdecoder.com/2018/12/07/british-crime-classics-challenge/

 

Religious

‪Bible Reading Challenge http://growing4life.net/2019-bible-reading-challenge/

The 2019 Christian Reading Challenge https://www.challies.com/resources/the-2019-christian-reading-challenge/

‪Epistolary Reading Challenge 2019 https://jannghi.blogspot.com/2018/10/epistolary-reading-challenge-2019.html

 

Others, in a rough alphabetical order:

#LetsReadIndie Reading Challenge! http://disq.us/t/38marqv

@BC24HrReadathon is hosting the 1st #BookCrossing #Readathon is on Sunday April 14th, 2019

666 for 2019 – an around the world reading challenge https://www.bookcrossing.com/forum/6/557526

 

Abandoned Book Rescue 2018 – Challenges from Exploding Steamboats https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/19155483-abandoned-book-rescue-2018

All About the Trope Challenge http://www.herdingcats-burningsoup.com/2018/11/all-about-trope-challenge.html

‪Alphabet Soup – Author Edition Reading Challenge https://www.escapewithdollycas.com/reading-challenges/2019-alphabet-soup-author-edition-reading-challenge/

Are you addicted to reading challenges? I just might have the thing for you…. ‪Reading Challenge Addict: About https://readingchallengeaddict.blogspot.com/p/about.html

Because Challenges: A Year in Anthologies! Sign Up Post! Come Join the Challenge https://coyerchallenge.blogspot.com/2018/12/a-year-in-anthologies-sign-up-post-come.html

Around the Year in 52 Books https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/174195-around-the-year-in-52-books

AtoZ Reading Challenge | Ginger Mom & the Kindle Quest – https://go.shr.lc/2Nabcve

Aussie Author Challenge 2019 https://go.shr.lc/2AvTJVh

2019 Audiobook Challenge Sign Up! – Hot Listens – https://go.shr.lc/2CgJRAN

 

Bookish’s 2019 Reading Challenge: 52 Ways to #KillYourTBR https://www.bookish.com/articles/2019-reading-challenge/

Book Riot’s 2019 Read Harder Challenge- https://bookriot.com/2018/12/12/2019-read-harder-challenge/

Blog All About It Challenge http://www.herdingcats-burningsoup.com/2018/11/2019-blog-all-about-it-challenge.html

Books and Ladders: 2019 Reading Challenge: Reading Challenge Throwback https://blog.booksandladders.co.uk/2018/12/2019-reading-challenge-reading.html

By the 100th page reading challenge – A book a month https://bythe100thpage.wordpress.com/2018/11/09/book-challenge-2019/

Birth Year Reading Challenge https://hotchpotcafe.blogspot.com/2018/12/birth-year-reading-challenge-2019_12.html

 

Cayl Reading Challenge https://thewanderingcayl.wordpress.com/2018/10/29/the-2019-cayl-reading-challenge/

Charity Reading Challenge (sign up) https://blbooks.blogspot.com/2018/11/2019-charity-reading-challenge-sign-up.html

Connect Five Books Reading Challenge https://thebookdate.wordpress.com/2018/12/07/connect-five-books-reading-challenge/

‪Creativity Reading Challenge 2019 https://jannghi.blogspot.com/2018/10/creativity-reading-challenge-2019.html

The 2019 Christian Reading Challenge https://www.challies.com/resources/the-2019-christian-reading-challenge/

 

Do you want to challenge yourself to read more physical books? If so, join #printonlyRC2019 (Sign Ups are now open!) https://wp.me/p7XOfa-1yy (this just might help some #Bookcrossers!)

 

EUROPEAN READING CHALLENGE – https://go.shr.lc/2B0izwo

Everything You Need to Know About BEAT THE BACKLIST 2019 | NovelKnight http://www.novelknight.com/everything-you-need-to-know-about-beat-the-backlist-2019/

 

Feed Your Fiction Book Blog Discussion Challenge Sign-Up https://feedyourfictionaddiction.com/2018/12/2019-book-blog-discussion-challenge-sign-up.html

First in Series Challenge 2019 https://cuddleupwithacozymysteryandadachshund.blog/2018/12/16/first-in-series-challenge-2019/

2019 Fanfiction Reading Challenge: Announcement and Sign-Up https://catonthebookshelf.wordpress.com/2018/12/15/2019-fanfiction-reading-challenge/

2019 Finishing the Series Reading Challenge https://celebrityreaders.com/2018/12/15/2019-finishing-the-series-reading-challenge/

 

Hail to the King 2019 Stephen King Reading Challenge https://ryanmwilliams.com/stephen-king/

Haute ‪ Beauty Reading Challenge https://hautebeautyguide.com/2019-book-challenge/

Humor Reading Challenge 2019 https://jannghi.blogspot.com/2018/10/humor-reading-challenge-2019.html

Home school life : If you, too, are looking for a way to organize your (endless) reading lists … http://homeschoollifemag.com/blog/2018/12/10/the-hsl-2019-reading-challenge

Lantern Read https://www.lanternarts.org/readingchallenge

Learn Something New 2019 Reading Challenge  http://smsnonfictionbookreviews.com/2018/11/learn-something-new-2019-reading-challenge/

Library love Reading Challenge  ‪http://angelsguiltypleasures.com/2019-library-love-challenge-review-link-ups/

Literary Pickers Reading Challenge Sign Up 2019 – https://go.shr.lc/2QcmiS6

Literary Loners http://readeropolis.blogspot.com/2018/12/announcing-literary-loners-reading.html

Literary Escapes Reading Challege https://www.escapewithdollycas.com/2018/11/11/2019-literary-escapes-challenge-sign-up-today/?fbclid=IwAR0busrbI9Wt6ljNDhG6XFLIxYKVfWxKZvvf44brx8LKWkE_isz-06bdG2Y

L-B the Librarian My 2019 Reading Challenge! https://lbthelibrarian.wordpress.com/2018/11/29/my-2019-reading-challenge/

 

Manga Reading Challenge https://mangahoarder.com/manga-reading-challenge-2019/

‪Master list of 2019 Reading Challenges. Hopefully I’ll have told you about most of them….http://www.girlxoxo.com/the-master-list-of-2019-reading-challenges/

Medical Examiner Mystery Reading Challenge http://rickmillsproject.com/reading_challenges/medical_examiner/index.html

‪Memoir Reading Challenge 2019 https://jannghi.blogspot.com/2018/10/memoir-reading-challenge-2019.html

Mind Voyages http://www.read52booksin52weeks.com/p/mind-voyages.html

Monthly Key Word Challenge 2019 https://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2018/10/monthly-key-word-challenge-2019.html

‪Monthly Motif reading challenge http://www.girlxoxo.com/2019-monthly-motif-reading-challenge/

Mount TBR Reading Challenge 2019 https://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2018/10/mount-tbr-reading-challenge-2019.html

Netgalley Edelweiss Reading Challenge https://readingbetweenthepagesblog.wordpress.com/2018/12/10/netgalley-edelweiss-reading-challenge-2019-sign-ups/ #NGEW2019

New Release Challenge Sign-up https://unconventionalbookworms.com/2019-new-release-challenge-sign-up/

Need some help which choosing which books to read? The 2019 Reading Challenge https://modernmrsdarcy.com/reading-challenge-2019/, with free Reading Challenge kit when you subscribe!

Nobel Prize Winners http://www.read52booksin52weeks.com/p/literary-nobel-prize-winners.html

Nonfiction Reading Challenge https://doingdeweydecimal.com/2018/12/29/2019-nonfiction-reading-challenge/

 

Books from pre-2010…. Oldie But A Goodie Romance Reading Challenge 2019 Sign Up http://disq.us/t/39ugvh4

 

Pick 26 books from the listed themes, and join in! https://www.walterandcobooks.com/blog/walter-co-2019-reading-challenge

Pick a Theme reading Challenge https://shesgotbooksonhermind.blogspot.com/2018/11/pick-theme-2019-challenge.html

Pretty Deadly Reviews: Bookish Bingo: Winter 2018-2019 https://prettydeadlyreviews.blogspot.com/2018/11/bookish-bingo-winter-2018-2019.html

‪Putting wings on words 2019 Reading Challenge https://puttingwingsonwords.wordpress.com/2018/11/17/2019-reading-challenge/

The perks of being a noura 2019 Reading Challenge https://theperksofbeingnourablog.wordpress.com/2018/12/11/2019-reading-challenge/

 

Read 52 Books in 52 Weeks http://www.read52booksin52weeks.com/2018/12/2019-read-52-books-in-52-weeks.html

Reading Challenge 2019: A Book A Week with the Pingel Sisters https://pingelsisters.com/reading-challenge-2019/

Reading Challenges (Around the Web) https://xxertz.wordpress.com/2018/11/04/2019-reading-challenges-around-the-web/

Retellings Reading Challenge http://www.cornerfolds.com/2018/12/2019-retellings-reading-challenge.html

Review Writing Challenge Sign Up – https://go.shr.lc/2AJoLc1

Read My Name – a 2019 Reading Challenge http://smsnonfictionbookreviews.com/2018/12/read-my-name-2019-reading-challenge/

Because Challenges: 2019 Reading Assignment Challenge | Sign Up Now! https://coyerchallenge.blogspot.com/2018/12/2019-reading-assignment-challenge-sign.htmL

 

Socrates’ Book Reviews…: 2019 What An Animal Reading Challenge – Sign Up https://socratesbookreviews.blogspot.com/2018/11/2019-what-animal-reading-challenge-sign.html

#Ampersand2019 reading challenge! 52 prompts for the year https://commasandampersandsblog.wordpress.com/2018/12/02/join-me-for-my-ampersand2019-reading-challenge/

SpaceTime Reading Challenge Sign-up #spacetimereads http://jemimapett.com/blog/2018/12/06/spacetime-reading-challenge-signup/

 

The 2019 Ragdoll Reading Challenge (Regular Edition) https://ragdollreads.co.uk/the-2019-ragdoll-reading-challenge/

The Annual Moody Reader Reading Challenge 2019 https://perspectiveofawriter.com/2018/11/24/2019-moody-reader-reading-challenge/

‪The Untouched Bookshelf Challenge! – An Invitation to Participate in something new https://swiftcoffee.blog/2018/11/21/the-untouched-bookshelf-challenge-an-invitation-to-participate-in-something-new/

2019 Reading Challenge + FREE PRINTABLE https://mommymannegren.com/2018/11/16/2019-reading-challenge-free-printable/

 

World at War Reading Challenge https://blbooks.blogspot.com/2018/11/2019-reading-challenges-world-at-war.html

Reading Challenge 2019 – Women Writers – Elif the Reader http://elifthereader.com/reading-projects/reading-challenge-2019-women-writers/

 

Word Of The Nerd Reading Challenge #WotNReadingChallenge https://wordofthenerdonline.com/the-2019-wotnreadingchallenge-is-here/

Yellow Book Road #ReadingChallenge – a book a month. https://www.theyellowbookroad.com/blog/2019-reading-challenge

 

Ready to Read in 2019 http://www.romancereaderscafe.com/2018/12/11/ready-to-read-in-2019/

Ivyclad Bingo https://ivycladideas.blogspot.com/2018/12/announcing-ivyclad-bingo-2019.html

Build Your Library Family Reading Challenge http://buildyourlibrary.com/2019-build-your-library-reading-challenge/

2019 #BookishResolutions Sign Up! Gets get those resolutions done together https://coyerchallenge.blogspot.com/2018/12/2019-bookishresolutions-sign-up-gets.html

 

Advertisements

21 thoughts on “2019 Reading Challenges and Readathons

    • No problem! It’s the first time I’ve done such a post and I hope it brings hosts some extra visibility and love, so you don’t feel you’re talking into the void!

      Like

  1. Phew! What a list. It’s so hard to not sign up for all of them.. Thank you for including my list – I hope you don’t mind that I’m linking you on mine too. Happy reading ❤️

    Like

    • Originally I was going to tweet links but then realised it would be too much. This way people can take their time and peruse through. There’s even a couple of links to other lists in case I missed a few!

      Link away!

      Liked by 1 person

    • You’re welcome!

      I’m probably near peak list length but I might slip in another few in the following weeks, so you might find another one or two!

      Like

  2. Oooo a list of challenges! That’s awesome! I’m going to get on some of these for sure 🙂 Thanks for putting this list together!

    Like

      • Haha for sure! I had literally never done a reading challenge before this year, so I’m going to have a go at at least one this year again 🙂 do you do any of them yourself?

        Like

      • I’m doing two, which will hopefully tie in well together. One is for books in print (to help with my expanding print TBR!), the other being historical fiction, for which I already have a scary pile on the coffee table! Week!

        Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.