Armchair BEA 2014 – Novellas/Short Stories

I am not a huge reader of short stories and novellas, but I’ve been read a couple over the last few years often as a result of getting books through Librarything. When done well, it’s interesting how good a story can be.  All extra words have been cut away and all you are left with are the words that are needed.  Interesting to see that most of the short stories I have gone for are Science Fiction/Fantasy and include

Book Review: Second Chance by David D. Levine

Vale Of Stars by Sean O’Brien 

The Void by Brett J Talley 

 Can anyone recommend any good short stories, Science Fiction or otherwise?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Armchair BEA 2014 – Novellas/Short Stories

  1. I’m impressed you’ve done today’s assignment so early in the day. I’m going to talk about my favourite novella/short story – The Awakening by Kate Chopin

    Like

    • read a lot of Asimov when I was younger, but got bored with his Rama series – should check his robot series out again sometime

      Like

  2. Hallo, Hallo Nordie,

    *waves hallo!* I am a #cheerREADER on Team4 with #ArmChairBEA! 🙂 I must confess, I did not get into short stories & novellas straight-away, as I sort of had to settle into them myself! What I truly appreciate now are short story anthologies for science fiction & fantasy! I’ve had the pleasure of reading & reviewing three anthologies thus far since I launched my bookish blog last August!! I have another one scheduled for the 22nd of June which is entitled “Hero’s Best Friend”, involving shorts from the perspective of animal companions!

    The previous anthologies I have read are:

    Chronicles of Ave: Vol. 1 by Stephen Zimmer – an extension of his Fires of Eden series where he goes into more details with some of the characters or enlarges the backstories. As I had not yet read his Fires of Eden series I opted to read this anthology as an introduction! High fantasy & heroic fantasy would be how I describe the stories inside!

    Moments in Millennia: a Fantasy Anthology edited by Penny Freeman – this is a collection of different shorts wrapped up in one volume by different contributing authors! My absolute favourite was a short called “Time out of Mind” by Michael Cross! I would consider that a time travel / alternative history fantasy short! You will not be disappointed!

    A Chimerical World: Tales of the Seelie Court edited by Scott M. Sandridge – the latest anthology I have read which features fantasy shorts within the realm of *faeries!* I am not as familiar with faerie in fiction (I have seen more in motion picture!) which is what encouraged me to request this one! Several stories moved me, stirred a curiosity, or left me a bit hungry to know more bits related to the story itself! You’ll have to click over to see what I mean!

    Most of the authors I enjoy reading these days are writing novella short stories that tie into their series – which sometimes annoys me, as they do not always release the novellas in print format! 😦 A few are rather keyed into knowing that their readers would appreciate their stories in all formats, which is why either the novella is included in a later edition paperback OR is released separately; even if you need to wait a year! (which I have done!)

    I will return when I’m able too to read more about your reviews & the shorts which electrified your mind!

    I hope you will find one or more on my list that encourages you in return!

    Jorie’s #ArmChairBEA Intro

    Like

Leave a Reply

